Brought to you in part by:
Thirteen Years!

Nineteen Years!

Click here to see a list of our Supporters.
  • If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm mad as a hornet......at myself!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm mad as a hornet......at myself!

Did something stupid today that I've never done before. Had the pickup in the back yard jumping off one of my riding mowers. Went to move it, had to back between two trees or between a tree and a stump, went for between the trees as that was how I pulled it in there. I forgot that I had moved it once already, looked into my side mirror, spotted the big tree and started backing up, then WHAM! I thought I was farther to the left than I was, just about centered the smaller tree. Worse thing about it was my tailgate was down. It folded up like a wet paper towel. Huge dent in the top, forced the plastic handle out, warped it enough it won't shut, probably couldn't get it open if it did shut. Looked around on eBay and craigslist, plenty of styleside gates, no flareside ones, not even new. Can't even find a listing on google for a replacement. Looks like it's going to be hard to find one. Going to check with my insurance, but figure it might be cheaper to just find a used one somewhere, if I can. May try to call a few yards next week and see what they have. Don't care about the color, I'm going to repaint the top and hood this fall anyway, painting a tailgate won't take much more work.
    ----1999 F150 XLT Lariat Super Cab 4X4 5.4----
    -----1947 Lincoln Zephyr Coupe 5.0-----
    -----2005 Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4----
    " Sometimes you fix the car, sometimes the car fixes you" Steve L.